2008 National Conference » Speakers

Jennie Chin Hansen

President-Elect, AARP

Jennie Chin Hansen, R.N., M.S., F.A.A.N., of San Francisco, CA, became President of AARP in May 2008. In addition, Ms. Hansen serves on the Board Audit and Finance Committee, the Governance Review Committee and the AARP Services, Inc. Board. She previously chaired the AARP Foundation Board and was vice chair of the Board Membership Committee. In 2005, Ms. Hansen transitioned after nearly twenty-five years as executive director of On Lok, Inc., a nonprofit family of organizations providing integrated and comprehensive primary and long-term care community based services in San Francisco. She is currently teaching nursing at San Francisco State University and chairs a nurse leadership grant focused on acute care hospitals and safety at UCSF’s Center for the Health Professions. Among Ms. Hansen’s awards are the 2005 Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services Administrator’s Achievement Award; the 2002 Gerontological Society of America’s Maxwell Pollack Award for Productive Aging; the Women’s Healthcare Executive Woman of the Year of Northern California in 2000; and the 1997 Women Who Could Be President Honoree from the League of Women Voters of San Francisco. In 2005, Ms. Hansen was inducted as a Fellow into the American Academy of Nursing.

Speaker Events

Friday, July 4

Welcome Program and Special Veterans Panel
Boy Scouts of America (BSA) Troop 555, Centennial, Colorado; Boy Scouts of America (BSA) Troop 21, Arvada, Colorado, Honorary Color Guard Escorts
Jennie Chin Hansen, President-Elect, AARP
Kenny Endo, Taiko Artist, Kenny Endo Taiko Ensemble
Edward Ichiyama, 442nd Regimental Combat Team
Akemi Kikumura Yano, President & CEO, Japanese American National Museum
Mitchell Maki, Dean, College of Health and Human Services, California State University, Dominguez Hills
Hiroshi "Hershey" Miyamura, Medal of Honor Recipient
Mustang Cadet Squadron, Colorado Wing of the Civil Air Patrol, Centennial, Colorado, Presentation of Colors
National Anthem, Elaine and Emily Kazutomi
George Sakato, Medal of Honor Recipient
Kaoru Watanabe, Fue Artist
Time: 12:40 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Location: Centennial Ballroom, 3rd Floor
Topic: General Activity