Participating Scholars

Contents

Project Description

Scholars

Institutional Participants

Resources

Symposium

Staff and Advisors

English Japanese
Spanish Portuguese

JANM Logo
Japanese American
National Museum


Participating Scholars
To view information about a participating scholar or staff member, mouse over their image and click.
(Photography by Norman Sugimoto)



Kozy Amemiya
Research Project: The 'Labor Pains' in Forging a Nikkei Community in the Santa Cruz Region, Bolivia
e-mail: kamemiya@ucsd.edu

Makoto Arakaki
Research Project: The Formation Process of a Diasporic Uchinanchu Identity:A Case Study of Okinawan Identity in Hawai'i
e-mail: makochu@aol.com

Raúl Araki
Research Project: An Assessment to the Process of the Formation of the Nikkei Identity in Peru
e-mail: musinjap@apjp.org.pe

Harumi Befu
Research Project: Nikkei in the Context of Globalizing Japan

e-mail: befu@po.kbu.ac.jp

Marcelo Higa
Research Project: Descendants of Japanese in Argentina
e-mail: marcelo@educ.ferris.ac.jp

Lane Hirabayashi
Research Project: Comparative Political Empowerment: Nikkei in Gardena, Hawai'i and Peru

e-mail: lane.hirabayashi@colorado.edu

Masako Iino
Research Project: "LARA" and Japanese Canadians (and Japanese Americans)

e-mail: iino@tsuda.ac.jp

Emilia Yumi Kasamatsu
Research Project: The New Perspective of Nikkei

e-mail: emikasa@rieder.net.py

Audrey Kobayashi
Research Project: A Demographic Analysis of the Japanese-Canadian Population

e-mail: kobayashi@post.queensu.ca

Teruko Kumei
Research Project: "The Twain Shall Meet" in Nisei?: Japanese Language Education and the U.S.-Japan Relation
e-mail: kumeit@shirayuri.ac.jp

Jeffrey Lesser
Research Project: In Search of the Hyphen: Nikkei and the Struggle over Brazilian National Identity, 1920 to Present
e-mail: jhles@conncoll.edu

Doris Moromisato Miasato
Research Project: The Symbolic Construction of the Feminine and the Masculine in the Peruvian Nikkei Community
e-mail: dmoromisato@blockbuster.com.pe

Maria Elena Ota Mishima
Research Project: Mexicans of Japanese Ancestry

Naomi Hoki Moniz
Research Project: Tizuka Yamazaki:From Nationalism to Cultural Identity
e-mail: moniz@gunet.georgetown.edu

Edson Mori
Research Project: Economic contributions of Japanese-Brazilians "dekaseguis" in Brazil and Japan
e-mail: edsonm@iadb.org

Amelia Morimoto
Research Project: Peruvian Nikkei Political Identity 1990-1998

e-mail: musinjap@apip.org.pe

Gary Mukai
Research Project: Japanese Migration to the Americas

e-mail: gary.mukai@forsythe.stanford.edu

Masato Ninomiya
Research Project: Dekasegi phenomenon from the Brazilian viewpoint

e-mail: ninomiya@nethall.com.br

Steven Masami Ropp
Research Project: The Local and the Global of being Nikkei in Peru and the United States: Cultural Citizenship and Bio-Politics in the Pacific Rim
e-mail: sropp@ucla.edu

Yasuo Sakata
Research Project: Still a Buried Past

e-mail: y-sakata@utc.osaka-gu.ac.jp

Shigeru Sugiyama
Research Project: Trilateral Relations between Mexico, the United States, and Japan in the Late 1930s

e-mail: shsugi@ia.inf.shizuoka.ac.jp

Yasuko I. Takezawa
Research Project: The Latin American Nikkei Community in Kobe

e-mail: ytakezaw@aol.com