Discover Nikkei line of colorful kokeshi

Discover Nikkei

Discover Nikkei Volunteer Open House

About the Event

Interested in helping us grow Discover Nikkei? Become a project volunteer!

Discover Nikkei is JANM’s community-based web project sharing stories and the experiences of Nikkei around the world. Volunteers help with all aspects of the site as well as related virtual programs and promotion. Language support is needed in English, Japanese, Spanish, and Portuguese. 

Volunteer opportunities include:

  • Writing
  • Translations
  • Editing / Proofreading
  • Transcriptions
  • Web Development
  • Graphic Design
  • Video Editing

Join us for a virtual Volunteer “Open House” to learn about these and other volunteering opportunities and meet Discover Nikkei’s staff and volunteers. Current volunteers are encouraged to join us for an opportunity to get to know each other.

Following a brief presentation and Q&A, we will have breakout groups with more in-depth sessions to learn about specific volunteer opportunities. There will also be an optional time afterwards for additional questions or networking for those that are interested.

Advance registrations are required. We will send you the Zoom link to access the virtual Open House the week of the event.

 

Learn more about volunteering opportunities. Join Our Team

If you are unable to attend but are still interested in volunteering, contact us at editor@DiscoverNikkei.org and we can schedule a separate meeting with you.

Please note that volunteers must be able to communicate in writing and verbally in basic English, although Japanese and Spanish can be accommodated as secondary languages.

Saturday, Sep 25, 2021

5:00 PM PDT

Saturday, September 25 • 5 p.m. (PDT)

  • 2 p.m. (Honolulu)
  • 5 p.m. (Los Angeles / Seattle)
  • 7 p.m. (Chicago / Lima / Mexico City)
  • 8 p.m. (New York)
  • 9 p.m. (Buenos Aires / São Paulo)
  • Sunday, September 26 • 8 a.m. (Manila)
  • Sunday, September 26 • 9 a.m. (Tokyo)
  • Sunday, September 26 • 10 a.m. (Sydney)

About the Event

Share

Interested in helping us grow Discover Nikkei? Become a project volunteer!

Discover Nikkei is JANM’s community-based web project sharing stories and the experiences of Nikkei around the world. Volunteers help with all aspects of the site as well as related virtual programs and promotion. Language support is needed in English, Japanese, Spanish, and Portuguese. 

Volunteer opportunities include:

  • Writing
  • Translations
  • Editing / Proofreading
  • Transcriptions
  • Web Development
  • Graphic Design
  • Video Editing

Join us for a virtual Volunteer “Open House” to learn about these and other volunteering opportunities and meet Discover Nikkei’s staff and volunteers. Current volunteers are encouraged to join us for an opportunity to get to know each other.

Following a brief presentation and Q&A, we will have breakout groups with more in-depth sessions to learn about specific volunteer opportunities. There will also be an optional time afterwards for additional questions or networking for those that are interested.

Advance registrations are required. We will send you the Zoom link to access the virtual Open House the week of the event.

 

Learn more about volunteering opportunities. Join Our Team

If you are unable to attend but are still interested in volunteering, contact us at editor@DiscoverNikkei.org and we can schedule a separate meeting with you.

Please note that volunteers must be able to communicate in writing and verbally in basic English, although Japanese and Spanish can be accommodated as secondary languages.

Saturday, September 25 • 5 p.m. (PDT)

  • 2 p.m. (Honolulu)
  • 5 p.m. (Los Angeles / Seattle)
  • 7 p.m. (Chicago / Lima / Mexico City)
  • 8 p.m. (New York)
  • 9 p.m. (Buenos Aires / São Paulo)
  • Sunday, September 26 • 8 a.m. (Manila)
  • Sunday, September 26 • 9 a.m. (Tokyo)
  • Sunday, September 26 • 10 a.m. (Sydney)

Support the understanding and appreciation of the Japanese American experience.

Become a Member Make a Gift