JANM Board Room

Board Members

Ann Burroughs

Ann Burroughs

President and CEO

Ann Burroughs was chosen by the JANM Board of Trustees to serve as its President and CEO in March 2017 after first serving in an interim capacity beginning in June 2016. An internationally recognized leader in the fight for human rights, she was elected as Chair of Amnesty International’s Global Assembly and as Chair of the Japanese American Confinement Sites Consortium. Ms. Burroughs’ life-long commitment to racial and social justice was shaped by her experience as a young activist in her native South Africa when she was jailed as a political prisoner for her opposition to apartheid. She has previously served as Executive Director of the Taproot Foundation and as the Executive Director of LA Works. Ms. Burroughs also worked as a consultant for the Omidyar Network, the Rockefeller Foundation, and the government of South Africa.

Norman Y. Mineta

Norman Y. Mineta

Chair, Board of Trustees

The Honorable Norman Y. Mineta has been the Chair of the Board of Trustees for the Japanese American National Museum since 2015, where he has been a Trustee since 1996. He previously sat on JANM’s Board of Governors from 1988-1995 and he served as its Chair from 2010-2015. The first Asian American appointed to a Presidential cabinet, he was named Secretary of Commerce under President Bill Clinton in 2000 and was selected Secretary of Transportation by President George W. Bush in 2001, a position he held until 2006. Prior to that, Secretary Mineta represented his hometown of San Jose in the House of Representatives for over 20 years. He also held executive positions in the private sector for Hill & Knowlton and Lockheed Martin. Recognized with the Presidential Medal of Freedom in 2006, America’s highest civilian award, Secretary Mineta was awarded JANM’s Distinguished Medal of Honor in 2012.

Body 1

Board of Trustees

Honorable Norman Y. Mineta, Chair, Board of Trustees
Randall R. Lee, Vice Chair
Robert T. Fujioka, Vice Chair
Harvey H. Yamagata, Treasurer
Koji F. Fukumura, Assistant Treasurer
Leslie K. Furukawa, Secretary
Ann Burroughs
William T. Fujioka
Meloni Hallock
Kenneth Hamamura
Stephen Kagawa
Paul Kosasa
Susan Morita
Kari Nakama
Michael Okabayashi
Mark Okada
Kenneth A. Picerne
Wendy C. Shiba
George H. Takei, Chairman Emeritus
Taiji Terasaki
Gordon Yamate
Thomas M. Yuki


Emeritus Board of Trustees

Bruce T. Kaji,* Founding President and Chairman Emeritus
Margaret Y. Oda, Ed.D.,* Chairman Emeritus
Francis Y. Sogi,* Chairman Emeritus
Yoshihiro Uchida, Chairman Emeritus
Elaine Y. Yamagata,* Chairman Emeritus


Board of Governors

Julie Azuma
Melvin H. Chiogioji, RADM (Retired)
Tracey C. Doi
Ann F. Harakawa
Chris Hope
Thomas Iino
Gene S. Kanamori
Michael T. Kawachi
John E. Kobara
Nikki Kodama
Kazuo “Kaz” Koshi
Akemi Kurokawa
Stephen K. Kurumada, DDS
Warren H. Maruyama
Nancy Matsui
Wesley “Denny” Minami
Yuichi Mitsumori
Richard I. Morimoto
Gary S. Moriwaki
Greg Nakahira
Tomoki Nakatani
Douglas W. Nelson
David Nishida
Daniel Nishikawa
Kristine M. Nishiyama
Dennis M. Ogawa, PhD
Susan J. Onuma
Kelly Saito
Floyd D. Shimomura
Lisa Sugimoto
Tamlyn Tomita
Jill Watanabe
Richard Watanabe
Christine Wilkinson
Mark Yamagata

Emeritus Board of Governors

John N. Fuyuume*
Honorable Daniel K. Inouye,* Chairman Emeritus, Board of Governors
Richard H. Kosaki, PhD
Takashi Makinodan, PhD
Sanbo S. Sakaguchi, MD*
Tomoye Takahashi*

Honorary Board of Governors

Honorable Gilbert Cedillo
Honorable Mazie K. Hirono
Honorable Michael M. Honda
Honorable Doris Matsui
Hiroshi “Hershey” Miyamura
Honorable Consul General Akira Muto
Honorable Alan Nakanishi
Robert C. Nakasone
Honorable Mark Ridley-Thomas
Honorable Lucille Roybal-Allard
Honorable Sharon Tomiko Santos
Peter V. Ueberroth
Hon. Lynne Kobashigawa Waihee


As of 8/6/21

Support the understanding and appreciation of the Japanese American experience.

Become a Member Make a Gift